Cain Velasquez expects to face Travis Browne!

Travis Browne Vs. Cain Velasquez? Cain Velasquez expects to face Travis Browne in November!

Cain Velasquez has not started training yet after underdoing shoulder surgery in December and he’s being patient with the rehab process. But he does have a target month that he’d like to be ready by.

“November sounds good,” Velasquez said Friday before UFC 171 weigh-ins at Gilley’s Dallas. “Hopefully with rehab and everything else, that would be enough time to get ready. I pretty much want to get back as soon as possible.”

As for who he’ll be fighting, Velasquez expects to see Travis Browne across the Octagon in the fall. Browne meets Fabricio Werdum in a title eliminator bout April 19 at FOX UFC Saturday in Orlando. Werdum is better on the ground, Velasquez said, but the champ predicts a Browne victory.

“Both guys are tough,” Velasquez said. “I think Travis Browne might be a little better on his feet with his overall length, power and the way he moves is really quick. … I’m kind of figuring Browne a little more.”

Velasquez already had shoulder surgery to repair a torn labrum on his right arm, so he doesn’€™t expect any complications from this surgery on his right shoulder. When he comes back, though, Velasquez is hoping to fight just twice a year. He fought three times in 11 months in 2012 and 2013, calling that “a little busy for me.”

More on

Travis Browne picked up “Comeback of the Year” and “Breakthrough Fighter of the Year”

The 2013 World MMA Awards were doled out this past Friday by Fighters Only. The awards show, now in its sixth year, sought to honor the best the MMA world had to offer last year.

The biggest winner on the night was UFC heavyweight Travis Browne after he picked up “Comeback of the Year” and “Breakthrough Fighter of the Year.” Browne definitely had a banner year in 2013 after pulling off three very impressive knockout victories last year.

2013 World MMA Awards Results

Charles “Mask” Lewis Fighter of the Year

Vitor Belfort
Urijah Faber
Demetrious Johnson
Chris Weidman
Cain Velasquez

Female Fighter of the Year

Joanne Calderwood
Alexis Davis
Jessica Eye
Holly Holm
Ronda Rousey

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

Travis Browne
T.J. Grant
Conor McGregor
Nick Newell
Khabib Nurmagomedov

International Fighter of the Year

Shinya Aoki
Alexander Gustafsson
Conor McGregor
Khabib Nurmagomedov
Alexander Shlemenko

Fight of the Year

Wanderlei Silva vs. Brian Stann (UFC on Fuel TV 8)
Michael Chandler vs. Eddie Alvarez II (Bellator 106)
Jon Jones vs. Alexander Gustafsson (UFC 165)
Gilbert Melendez vs. Diego Sanchez (UFC 166)
Mark Hunt vs. Antonio Silva (UFC Fight Night 33)

Knockout of the Year

Vitor Belfort (vs. Luke Rockhold, UFC on FX 8)
Junior dos Santos (vs. Mark Hunt, UFC 160)
Emanuel Newton (vs. “King Mo” Lawal, Bellator 90)
Julio Cesar Neves Jr. (vs. Dener Dos Santos, WOCS 28)
Chris Weidman (vs. Anderson Silva, UFC 162)*

Submission of the Year

Olivier Fontaine (vs. Sofian Benchohra, Lyon FC)
Josh Burkman (vs. Jon Fitch, WSOF 3)
Urijah Faber (vs. Ivan Menjivar, UFC 157)
Rose Namajunas (vs. Kathina Catron, Invicta 5)*
Kenny Robertson (vs. Brock Jardine, UFC 157)

Comeback of the Year

Travis Browne (vs. Alistair Overeem, UFC Fight Night 26)
Blagoi Ivanov (career)*
Robbie Lawler (career)
Michelle Waterson (vs. Jessica Penne, Invicta 5)
Tom Watson (vs. Stanislav Nedkov, UFC on Fuel TV 7)